I Want To Do All the Things.

Pratt Studio 2010

Pratt Studio 2010

I’m hitting that point in my artistic career where I want to do everything.

I want to do everything at once.

In my head and on paper I have all these plans.  I have plans for paintings, plans for screen prints, plans for collages and mixed medias. . Nothing too elaborate but a decent amount of projects that would require lots of time to work through given I have a full-time day job. My bedroom has become more of a art studio supply closet rather than a bedroom.  I have bags of paper underneath the dresser.  Behind the door leans a masonite board. On top of the wardrobe are a few boxes of paints, pencils and silkscreen tools.  Books and magazines full of illustrations and ideas that inspire me surround my bed.  I want to read, I want to draw, I want to cut things out, and I want to paint.

This is the moment in time where I almost miss being a student.  I had all the time in the world to devote to being artistic.  Except for a couple of courses on history and writing, the rest of my classes were all focused around creating.  I also had all the space and facilities to use.  I was even so lucky as to have the print shop and the ceramics studio separated by one floor. Did you know I used to make pots? I can do that!

The perks of paying tuition and worrying about the debt later.

The later is now.

Like most budding artists who have been tossed to the street with their crumpled degree in their back pocket, I hope for the day where I can devote my days to that thing I spent all of my (and not my) money to learning.  It shouldn’t be about “will this design sell?” or “will someone want to buy this painting?” It should be about, “I want to draw this thing and bring it out of my mind” and “It feels good to play with all these colours”.

How do you manage to fit your practice in with your days?

This can apply to all creatives with full-time jobs outside of their hobby.

How do you find the time to research and apply?

My Society6 Shop.

Leave a Reply

