More Tattooed Girls and Alligator Pie.

I have a little over 24 hours left to finish this drawing.  In the midst of this I do work a full time job.  Have I mentioned we, here in Toronto, are going through a heat wave?  I was just sitting around drawing in my apartment last night and my knees started to sweat.  My knees.  That is a thing apparently.

I managed to get a large chunk, literally, of the piece worked on last night.  I must tell you that those shorts took an entire 6B pencil.  Note to self, buy more 6B pencils today because I’m sure going to need them.  4B and 6B have always been my favourites to use.  Dark and contrasty. Just how I like it… albeit a little messy.

Art Drawing Tattoo 2

Speaking of drawing (like that segway?  I thought of it myself), I took the walking scenic route to work today and passed a little shop called The Paper Place at Queen St. West and Walnut Ave. just across from Trinity Bellwoods Park. On display in their window was one of my favourite children’s books with the most bright and comical illustrations I could remember as a kid, Alligator Pie. The poems Dennis Lee and illustrations by Frank Newfeld go hand in hand and stimulate the imagination. I might have to pick up a copy tonight on my way home.  If I’m lucky they might also have a copy of Garbage Delight.

“Alligator pie, Alligator pie

If I don’t get some I think I’m going to die

Give away the green grass, give away the sky

But don’t give away my alligator pie.”

photo 3

Leave a Reply

